5 Killer Whales vs 1 Seal

This an extremely interesting video of 5 Orcas, or Killer Whales, attacking a single seal that is trapped on top of some floating ice. The Antarctic orcas use the cunning tactic of hunting in packs and making waves to wash the seal off floating ice. It is a fairly tense little clip and I don’t want to give away the ending so … check it out:

If you are interested in this orca behaviour, read more here.

Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “5 Killer Whales vs 1 Seal”

  1. Fedele Says:

    hi mr barlow do you know if the seal survived

  2. Mr. Barlow Says:

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure it did Fedele.

  3. ALLISTER MOFFATT Says:

    as if it survived

  4. Tillyyyy Says:

    very impressive mr barlow 🙂 i hope the seal lived. tilly

  5. Jyazz21 Says:

    Yes. If you can’t watch the bullfight then leave. You’ll have to mute the audio if you want to watch this video coz a stupid woman just keeps going ‘oh no oh no oh no’. It’s nature!

  6. Marisa Says:

    that is pretty cool, im glad it survived:)

  7. Ed from Canada Says:

    Amazing at the whales awarness of how it’s movements manipulate the surface of the water!

    The effect would be something the whale would n’t be able to easily see and cross communication may be the only way to know/learn how to do this.

  8. Ryan Says:

    how isnt that seal dead!!!

  9. Jan Says:

    Killer Whales are amazing creatures..just had to share this beautiful pic:

    http://www.redbubble.com/people/andrewpatsalou/art/4189923-1-killer-whales

    gotta love killer whales…hope to see some real ones soon..

  10. Hier Says:

    Orcas are the real killers of the sea. White sharks are dangerous but I never want to meet an orca while swimmeing or diving. But the seal was lucky here^^

  11. Nathan Says:

    i reckon thats a different seal at the end it couldn’t have survived.

  12. reuben Says:

    pretty cool scary tho…

  13. Http://uncti.net/main/htdocs/userinfo.php?uid=10505 Says:

    Hello great website! Does running a blog like this take a
    large amount of work? I have no knowledge of coding but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near
    future. Anyways, should you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please
    share. I know this is off subject but I just needed to ask.
    Kudos!

  14. exercise Says:

    It’s going to be end of mine day, however
    before end I am reading this great article to improve my
    know-how.

  15. www.psychicreadingszone.com Says:

    After I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I
    get four emails with the same comment. Is there an easy method you can remove
    me from that service? Thank you!

  16. Star wars commander Cheats ipad Says:

    Have you ever considered creating an ebook
    or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based upon on the
    same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some
    stories/information. I know my visitors would enjoy your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

