Why do you get white spots on your fingernails?

Have you ever had one of those white spots on your fingernail and wondered what it was?

Well wonder no more! The majority of white spots on fingernails are caused by a previous injury to the nail bed. They can be loosely compared to bruises on the skin.

Similar to bruising, white spots on fingernails do not show up immediately. It may take several days or weeks before you notice the spots. Because they are generally the result of a minor injury, by the time you notice the spot you are likely to have forgotten all about banging your fingernail a few weeks earlier.

The medical term for white discoloration appearing on nails is Leukonychia. And it is certainly one of the better nail conditions to have, some are far, far worse.

While these white spots may be the result of a zinc deficiency, if it is, it’s likely that other signs of zinc deficiency, such as hair loss or a slow immune system, would be present as well.

Tags: ,

34 Responses to “Why do you get white spots on your fingernails?”

  1. Tubbo & Dubba Tubba Says:

    You know, that’s really interesting. Really, really interesting. NOT.
    You make school seem like a fun-filled learning environment from a utopia.

    http://tubbotwins.wordpress.com

  2. kamanaa Says:

    Wow! I get a lot of these and I always wonder what it is..but necer bothered to look it up….thanks for the info. But you know in my country we call it “nail flower”…hehe

  3. Tubbo & Dubba Tubba Says:

    Please please please take away the “some are far, far worse” link. Now. We don’t want others to share the same horrid fate as us. The pictures are forever burned into our brain. DON’T CLICK THE GODDAMNED LINK!

    http://tubbotwins.wordpress.com

  4. Robert T. Says:

    Haha wow, this is such a random topic, but I completely was curious about it xD. I hate those white spots (I think they look more like dashes). I kind of figured that it was something to do with like banging the nail but since it doesn’t show up for a while, like you said..I completely forgot about lol.

  5. mikeriveraprod Says:

    Caused by nail trauma right?

  6. enard Says:

    wow.. thanks for the heads up.. 🙂 i always thought it’s our diet that leads to those white spot.. 🙂

  7. iwishiwaschucknorris Says:

    sweet, i have always wondered bout why i got white spots. i thought it was something to do with calcium

  8. womanofsubstance Says:

    That’s a good piece of info..I knew it was some deficiency…Nice blog.

  9. Nouru Says:

    This post taught me quite a lot. Thank you!!! 😀

  10. Atul Bhatia Says:

    I also heard that white spots on the nails has something to do with Calcium deficiency in one’s body. Is it true

  11. reginaedith Says:

    Hello,

    We have a myth about the white spot on fingernails here back in my hometown (somewhere in Indonesia). They say that the bigger the white spot you got on your fingernails, it means that there’s a lot of people loving you 🙂

    Now that I read your post about that, I just cracked up. What a myth we have here haha. Thanks anyway for the explaination.

  12. jamesisaacneutron Says:

    what is the worsest effect of it?

  13. Wow Says:

    I’ve actually wondered for so long what they were! Now I know to be careful -__-”
    😀
    Anyways Thank you!

  14. Surprised Says:

    I have been itching to find out what this was and this has helped. Yay thanks!
    🙂

  15. Dr. Rob D'Aquila Says:

    You have a great site. Thanks for your contributions. I have had personal experience with white spots on my fingernails that was clearly the result of a zinc deficiency. I have also noted this in patients of mine. And you are right, if a lack of adequate amounts of zinc is the culprit, looking deep enough will reveal other signs and/or symptoms of zinc deficiency.

  16. rac Says:

    this website is alsome it ansered all of my questions

  17. Robbie Mac Says:

    the actual reason for the white spot on a nail is… Arsenic Poisoning. Look it up

  18. da-x-p Says:

    thanks for the information.some children at school say that if you those white spots on your finger nails that means that somebody or plenty people like you.

  19. da-x-p Says:

    Thanks once again for the information.i went to school and told my friends what those white spots on your finger is but they didn’t believe me only my two best friends believed me.

  20. princess peehu Says:

    i also have white spots in finger nail… plse can u tell me wht to do i thought i have less calcuim plse plse plse tell me tht wht to eat, wht to do?????????

  21. Maria Says:

    I have a big white spot on my nail

  22. Hubba bubba Says:

    What if you have a big white spot on your thumb because I do I have on on my thumb

  23. http://buyb12patches.com/tropical-green-coffee-Extract Says:

    I am in fact grateful to the owner of this website
    who has shared this fantastic paragraph at at this place.

  24. gåNedivekt.com Says:

    I simply couldn’t depart your website prior to suggesting that I extremely loved
    the usual info a person supply in your guests?
    Is gonna be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  25. gåNedivekt.com Says:

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content.

    Please let me know. Cheers

  26. Nedivekt.com Says:

    Everything is very open with a precise description of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your website is useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  27. http://gånedivekt.com/ Says:

    That is very interesting, You’re an overly professional blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to searching for more of your
    magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my
    social networks

  28. diett for å gå ned i vekt fort Says:

    I got this web page from my pal who shared with me regarding this website and at the moment this time I am browsing this website and reading very informative posts at this place.

  29. Chelsey Says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly
    donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for
    book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share
    this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  30. http://Gånedivekt.com/ga-ned-i-vekt/ga-ned-i-vekt-kosthold-dette-ma-du-lese/ Says:

    Hey I am so glad I found your web site, I really found you by
    accident, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute
    but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  31. Meridith Says:

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, really
    like what you’re stating and the way in which you say
    it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of
    to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a terrific web site.

  32. Michell Says:

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to
    be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me.

    I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  33. 42 led tv Says:

    Hello colleagues, fastidious post and pleasant urging commented here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  34. 24 tv Dvd combo Says:

    It is in reality a great and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you
    shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

