New turbulent clouds

Cirrus, Altocumulus and Nimbostratus are all types of clouds. A cloud is a visible mass of water droplets or frozen crystals floating in the atmosphere.

Because of the large range in temperatures and air movement in the troposphere, clouds vary in structure and composition (a combination of ice crystal and water). Consequently, clouds are classified into three main groups: lower, middle and high level clouds.

No new cloud types have been classified since 1951. So this may become the first new cloud type to be recognized by scientists since then:


It has been suggested that this new cloud be given a “formal,” Latin name: Undulus asperatus roughly meaning, “a very turbulent, violent, chaotic form of undulation. Maybe because it looks kind of like the ocean. Read more here or here.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: