Perfume producing bacteria

The next time you savor the sweet flavor of vanilla ice cream or the fresh orange scent of a hand soap, you may have bacteria to thank. Fragrance companies are now looking to lab-engineered bacteria and yeast to produce fragrances normally derived from plants.

For centuries, humans have worked to harness good smells. Bottling a scent required painstakingly extracting plant oils from crops often grown in far-flung countries. The commercial fragrance market, which is responsible for the scents in everything from food and drinks to cleaning products and perfume, relies on a steady supply of these oils. But a natural disaster or corrupt government practice can easily dry up a source.

Now, using microbes to manufacture these scents is becoming a sweeter possibility. Compared to producing scents by chemical synthesis, microbial manufacture could be more eco-friendly, and still be labelled natural. And your nose will never know the difference. Learn more here.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Perfume producing bacteria”

  1. aanbiedingen Says:

    Hi there to every one, it’s actually a pleasant for me to pay a quick visit this web site, it contains important Information.

  2. aanbiedingen Says:

    Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established
    blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

  3. voucher Says:

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  4. Arlene Says:

    I think this is one of the most important info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  5. content Says:

    I love looking through a post that can make people think.

    Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  6. reklama Says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a
    great blog like this one nowadays.

Leave a Reply

