Crazy café wall

An optical illusion is characterized by visually seeing images that differ from what is really there.

There are three main types: literal optical illusions (example) that create images that are different from the objects that make them, physiological ones (example) that are the effects on the eyes and brain of excessive stimulation of a specific type (brightness, tilt, color, movement), and cognitive illusions (example) where the eye and brain make unconscious inferences.

One of my favourite cognitive optical illusions is the café wall illusion. This optical illusion makes the parallel straight horizontal lines appear to be bent:

cafe_wall_illusion

But that’s pretty basic so there are heaps more with full explanations here, and a few more here.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Crazy café wall”

  1. CW Says:

    Hello,

    Just wanted to comment on how incredibly interesting I find this blog! I also find it amazing that you are able to find time to update it as consistently as you do.
    Anyway, I was recently reading about tactile illusions (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touch_illusion). I think it must have been in New Scientist, as I have found what I believe to be a copy of the article on their site (http://www.newscientist.com/special/tactile-illusions). I found it interesting and am sure you will too.

  2. Mr. Barlow Says:

    Thanks CW.
    And thanks for the tactile illusion links – interesting stuff!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.